Select Page

1573 Appeal

An invitation to become a founding donor of the Middle Temple Charity.

Celebrating our past. Protecting the future.

With a donation you can become a founding donor of the Middle Temple Charity and be part of our endeavours to the Inn continue to thrive – now and in the future – for the benefit of society

Now it’s your turn to help ensure a fair and representative legal system for years to come.

Please become a founding donor of the Middle Temple Charity today.

Become a founding donor of the Middle Temple Charity.

The 1573 Appeal is being launched by Middle Temple Charity as part of the commemorations of the 450th anniversary of the completion of Middle Temple Hall.

By supporting the 1573 Appeal you will help provide critical funding that will be applied solely to a range of charitable activities supported or carried out by the Inn, in accordance with the charitable purposes of Middle Temple Charity.

Benchers, members, and supporters of the Inn are invited, by contributing, to become founding donors of Middle Temple Charity, thus enabling its charitable objectives to be achieved – in each case for the public benefit.

donate celebrating women in law

‘If we are to encourage the next generation of barristers… we need to support them and to encourage people from different backgrounds to apply. If I can help with that I will. I was helped along the way so I need to repay the favour.”


In 2023, we were able to award scholarships totalling around £1,000,000. With the establishment of the new charity, we aspire to increase the annual scholarship allocation, thereby fostering excellence, diversity, and broadened access to the profession.


The preservation and maintenance of Middle Temple’s cherished artefacts and buildings stands as an imperative duty. With your support, we aim to ensure the safeguarding and restoration of these treasures for generations to come.

Fund for the Future

To address unforeseen circumstances and secure our enduring presence, Middle Temple Charity is establishing a forward-looking reserve fund. This fund enable us to adapt swiftly and provide further charitable support to the Inn and its community.

The Roll of Honour

Thank you to all founding donors
of the Middle Temple Charity including
those who chose not to be recognised


Mr Michael Leslie Taylor
Thomas Charles Macey-Dare KC
Daniel Benjamin
Jemima Stratford KC
Reena Parveen Grewal
Lord Justice Lewis
The Revd A.H. Mead
Rt Hon Lord Carnwath CVO
Sachin Rajput
His Honour David Miller
Hugh Carlisle KC
His Honour John Colyer KC
Scott Baker
His Honour Brian Pollock
Anita James
His Honour Eric Stockdale
His Honour Judge Simon Wood
Sibby Salter
Paul G. Kirtley
Jervis Smith
Stephen Mason
Dr. Ann Brady
Robert Cumming
David Reade
Richard Menzies
Michael Fitzgerald
Jeffrey Golden KC (Hon)
Paul Ekperigin
Her Honour Judge Magdalen Case
Fergus Randolph KC
Cyrus Pocha
(His Honour) P. John Cockroft
Christian Luke Wheeliker
Richard Herring
David Bradly KC
Master Andrew Campbell KC
Louise McCullough
Rt Hon Dominic Grieve KC
Guy Mansfield KC
His Honour Peter Bowsher KC
Michael Wilkins
Malcolm Gammie CBE KC
The Rt. Hon Sir David Latham
David Lewis K.C.
Sir David Bodey
Alison Pople
Richard Walford
Lord John Dyson
His Honour Judge Mark Pelling KC
Paul Lowenstein KC
Miss Parveen Akhtar. D/O Haji Ayub Inayat Khan
Gibson Grenfell K.C.
Zimba Moore
Richard Miller KC
The Rt Hon Sir Christopher Clarke
Thomas Glyn Watkin
Master George Bartlett
Clive Freedman
Esther Moffett (Nee Schutzer-Weissmann)
Diana Cotton KC
Squadron Leader Malcolm Sinel
The Rt Hon Lord Justice Bean
Anthony Johnson
Sir Philip Bailhache
Alys Harahap
James Latter
Duran Seddon JC
HHJ Martin Edmunds KC
Wendy Jane Owen
Michael Black KC
Alan Bates
His Honour Juge Christopher Morgan
Anthony Speaight K.C.
Michael Blair KC (Hon)
Ms Eileen Mary Alltree
Rachel Nansubuga Mayanja
Vasanti Selvaratnam KC, Bencher
Hannah A. Varnouse.
HHJ Catherine Brown
Wendy Jane Owen
Sheila Cameron C.B.E. K.C.
Rosalind Wright CB KC (Hon)
Sir Roderic Wood
Rachel Nansubuga Mayanja
Sir Philip Bailhache
Peter J.F. Taylor
Kate Lumsdon KC
James O’Keeffe
His Honour Clive Million
Catherine Urquhart
Caroline Kennedy-Morrison
Bruce Harris
Aidan Christie K.C.
Adam Heppinstall KC
Sir Gary Hickinbottom

By helping to launch this new charitable initiative you can help to ensure a bold, ambitious future in which Middle Temple & our members continue to create public benefit.

Donate hardship fund

Ashley Building, Middle Temple Lane,
London, EC4Y 9BT

020 7427 4800

Registered in England and Wales
Registration number 15183999
Registered office: Ashley Building, Middle Temple, London. EC4Y 9BT
Middle Temple Charity is a private company limited by guarantee.
Middle Temple Charity is registered with the Charity Commission under number 1205068.